Back to Simple Guide to Medicare

The Different Parts of Medicare

Part A (hospital insurance)

Medicare Part A helps pay for inpatient hospital stays, skilled nursing facilities, home healthcare, hospice, and other related services.

Part B (medical insurance)

Medicare Part B helps pay for medically necessary doctors’ services, lab work, and other outpatient care.
You pay a Part B premium (cost) if you want this coverage.

Part C (Medicare Advantage plans)

Part C (Medicare Advantage plans) are provided by private health plans and include all your Medicare-covered medical benefits (Parts A and B) plus extra benefits. You must have Medicare Parts A and B to apply for a Medicare Advantage plan.

Part D (prescription drug coverage)

Medicare Part D is offered through private health plans. It can be either a stand-alone prescription drug plan (PDP) or a Medicare Advantage prescription drug plan (MAPD) that combines medical (Parts A and B) and drug coverage (Part D). You must have Medicare Parts A and B to qualify.